Skip to main content

NC State Ed Leadership in the News

Mar 26, 2024

Wolf/NELA, Tuffy, and Red/Wake 2025 Cohorts traveled to the ASCD conference in Washinton, DC.

The Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development conference brings experts and practitioners together to recharge and inspire you as we look ahead to a new school year and begin summer learning. 

Aug 31, 2023

Rachel Brackney (NELA 2025) named Edgecombe County Public Schools Teacher of the Year

Rachel Brackney named Edgecombe County Public Schools Teacher of the Year for her service at SouthWest Edgecombe High School. She earned an undergraduate degree in Psychology from the University of Missouri. She was a 2015 Teach for America corps member and served her first three years in Bertie County. Rachel continued her teaching career in Edgecombe County where she currently serves as a Math 1 teacher at SouthWest Edgecombe High School. Throughout the years, she has served as the head of the science department, School Improvement Team representative, mentor teacher, athletic director, and softball coach. 

Mar 6, 2023

Taylor Evans (Wake Cohort ’22) was selected by WCPSS for Black History Month spotlight

She was recognized for her service at Walnut Creek Elementary School. 

Mar 1, 2023

Dr. Bonnie Fusarelli was recognized for Holshouser Award by NC State Chancellor Woodson

Chancellor Woodson noted, “She is passionate about improving the lives of others in our state…” 

Feb 28, 2023

Dr. Bonnie Fusarelli honored with prestigious UNC-system wide Holshouser Award for public service

Dr. Fusarelli was selected for her work in preparing high quality principals across the state. 

Feb 22, 2023

Dr. Lauren Lampron (NELA Cohort III / Ed.D. 2015) featured in EdNC article: Meet a principal who offers love first in this come as you are school

Lauren Lampron, Ed.D was interviewed about her time as principal at SouthWest Edgecombe High School. 

Dec 7, 2022

Leshaun Jenkins, NELA 2020 graduate, featured in EdNC article “Meet Leshaun Jenkins, a first-year principal in Edgecombe County answering ‘the call’”

Leshaun Jenkins, JPLA 2020 graduate, was recently interviewed about his first year as a Principal. 

Nov 9, 2021

Sophelia McMannen (NELA III) in EdNC- “How this rural school district is coping with staffing shortages”

“Until teachers can get the support — it’s not even just about money — but the support that they need, you aren’t going to have people that are going to enter the field to teach,” McMannen said. 

Nov 9, 2021

Lauren Lampron (NELA III) Named Edgecombe County Schools’ 2021-2022 Principal of the Year

“This is not the first time that Lampron has won the honor of Principal of the Year for the school district. When she was leading W.A. Patillo Middle Schools, Lampron was selected as the Edgecombe County Public Schools 2019 Principal of the Year.” 

Aug 5, 2021

Timothy Mudd (’13 MSA), Nash County Public Schools 2021-2022 Principal of the Year, Recognized for Success in Creating Opportunities for Students

“Mudd said the NC State College of Education’s Northeast Leadership Academy (NELA) helped transform him from a high school math teacher who wanted to make a greater impact into the school leader he is today. As a part of NELA, Mudd discovered who he was as a leader and grasped the importance of understanding his local…